International Day of Action for Rivers 2021 – RoRSA

14th March is celebrated as The International Day of Action for Rivers. A day dedicated to solidarity – when diverse communities around the world come together with one voice to say that rivers matter. That communities having access to clean and flowing water matters. That everyone should have a say in decisions that affect their water and their lives. That it’s our time to stand up for these rights, now more than ever.

For International Day of Action for Rivers 2021, the Rights of Rivers South Asia (RoRSA) alliance is organising a week-long action that finally culminates in an event on Sunday, 14th March 2021.

For the action this week, we invite you to share photos of you holding placards with text or design celebrating rivers and include the hashtags #DayofAction2021, #RightsofRivers & #RoRSA. Tag us (@rorsouthasia) on Twitter and/or Instagram when you upload, and we will re-share your post. Example actions here:

The event on Sunday is an official launch of the RoRSA Alliance and an attempt to understand from different groups/individuals on how they relate to or work with rivers. This will be followed by an open discussion keeping in mind the Rights of Rivers framework.

Date: Sunday, 14th March 2021
Time: 5:00 – 6:30 PM IST / 5:15 – 6:45 PM NPT / 5:30 – 7:00 PM BST / 11:30 AM – 13:00 PM GMT

Our objective is to seek realistic perspectives on:

  • What do Rights of Rivers mean to communities and practitioners. 
  • How do different communities and practitioners describe their relationship with rivers as a living entity.
  • What could be the advantages of granting rights to rivers?
  • What are the possibilities and challenges in applying a rights perspective to different rivers that inherently flow beyond jurisdictions?

Register here for the event:

Registrations for the event are now closed. You can follow the discussion live on our Facebook page at this link: http://facebook.com/rorsouthasia


Learn more about the Rights of Rivers South Asia (RoRSA) alliance here: www.rorsa.org

Learn more about the International Day of Action for Rivers here: https://www.internationalrivers.org/take-action/international-day-of-action-for-rivers/